Hey look, an update!

Man, I had to dust the cobwebs off my login screen to see what I was typing… once I got that out of the way I had to refresh my memory on what this blog was about, and why I have an account… oh, something about doing stuff to cars… oh thats right…!

Anyway, lots but not really lots has happened regarding the Carina lately. I bought and installed some aftermarket adjustable caster arms. They are for an AE86 but fits perfectly for a Carina also.

I also got rid of the cut factory GX71 springs I had in the rear and replaced them with some standard Ford Sierra wagon rear springs with 1 and 1/2 coils cut. Brought it to about the same height as before but stiffer.

Lastly, I took out the 3TGTE altenator and replaced it with an EA Falcon one. I first read about this a while back on Toymods and it worked a treat (see pics in the Toymods thread). Reason I did this is because the 3TGTE ones are shit, and the EA Falcon ones are better, more grunt (85amp) and waaay more common so if it goes kaput, I can just Trade Me another one (I got 2, one cost me $1).

(EA Falcon left, 3TGTE right).
I followed the instructions in that thread, ground down the back bracket on the swivel bracket and modified the Falcon tensioner arm. Only big difference is the Falcon one is internally regulated, and the 3T one is not. I took the car down to the autosparky to wire it up properly and installed a slightly shorter belt to get the right tension. Works a treat!

Anyway, went to another Manji Day on the 20th of June 2009. Was going awesome, had a small drama, but carried on. Will post soon in another post.

Leave a Reply

